WiX progress

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    bedrock
    Participant

Just to let you know how I’m getting on, I now have a basic WiX based install for Firefly.

I have a launch condition for Bonjour and i am using the merge module for the c runtimes.

I’m now looking at what i can do in WiX with regards to the HasMap, HasLog and HasConf sections of the current NSIS based install script, i’m still learning WiX and not entirely sure if i can do whats needed with regards to these sections πŸ˜•

-Nic

rpedde
    Participant

@bedrock wrote:

Just to let you know how I’m getting on, I now have a basic WiX based install for Firefly.

I have a launch condition for Bonjour and i am using the merge module for the c runtimes.

I’m now looking at what i can do in WiX with regards to the HasMap, HasLog and HasConf sections of the current NSIS based install script, i’m still learning WiX and not entirely sure if i can do whats needed with regards to these sections πŸ˜•

-Nic

yay!

I think most of that can be ignored for now… probably have to have people uninstall current version to get on the msi builds anyway, so won’t have to mess with the legacy config.

Bigger question is how to handle lots of versions… like, how to do nightlies.

bedrock
    Participant

Ok Ron, i’ll take a look at upgrades etc… to support nightly builds.

I’m kinda stuck at the moment figuring out how to close down the tray app before uninstall, but i’ll keep digging

rpedde
    Participant

@bedrock wrote:

Ok Ron, i’ll take a look at upgrades etc… to support nightly builds.

I’m kinda stuck at the moment figuring out how to close down the tray app before uninstall, but i’ll keep digging

I think right now, I’m sending a WM_USER or something to close it down. If there is a way of IPC that would work better from wix, I could certainly add that to the tray app to make it easier to communicate from the installer to the tray icon.

I just don’t know what it would be. πŸ™‚

— Ron