Version Info, Reg Info, Payment? Info

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server Setup Issues Version Info, Reg Info, Payment? Info

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    UKChris

Hi

Firstly thanks for an excellent solution for my musical entertainment.

I am a complete novice and installed uNSLUng and mt-daapd by following simple instructions.

I now have a few questions that I cannot find answers for …

How is it possible to find our what version of mt-daapd is installed and running?

Should I register the software / myself for these forums?

How do I make a financial contribution for this software?

Tia

Chris

velociped
    Participant

Chris,

In answer to your queries…sequentially.

1) The easiest means of determining the installed version of the daemon is through the web admin pages. It is listed in the upper right-hand corner; just below the mt-daapd logo.

2) Registration of the software, per se, is not required. It is open source and is distributed under the GPL. There is some benefit in registering here, at the web site, but it is by no means a requirement. Such is at the discretion of the individual.

3) Ron is best suited to respond to your third question. As chief architect and primary developer, he is the ultimate arbiter in that respect. At present there is no provision for voluntary, financial support.

Herman

rpedde
    Participant

With regard to your last question, that’s a hard one. This isn’t the first time it’s come up, so I guess it’s going to continue to do so.

Generally, I don’t like the idea of accepting donations for several reasons, the biggest being that as a GPL program, it benefits from the contributions of many people. Not just the dozens of people who sent in code, but the code it builds on and the tools used to compile it.