Ubuntu Issue???

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    lconvis
    Participant

Sorry for my ignorance, but I am new to Linux. I have installed Firefly on my Ubuntu 7.04 box. Everything seems to be working, it loads, I can access the web interface, it scans my directory and shows a song count. I go to my Soundbridge and it does not see Firefly. I launch my Avahi browser and it detects my Soundbridge. If I launch Rythmbox and enable sharing my Soundbridge sees it (although there are browsing restrictions from Rythmbox)
    I can share from a WinXP or my Mac and the Soundbridge works perfect.

My ultimate goal is to stay on Ubuntu.

I know this does not explain much, but I sure could use some help.

Thanks in advance,

Lenny

fizze
    Participant

What version of firefly did you install?
    Probably your Soundbridge is a Pinnacle brand, you need to activate the RSP-plugin of firefly to be able to use it with the soundbridge.

Only the newer nightly versions (since about v1200) support the RSP protocol, and you’re better off with them anyways. Check http://nightlies.mt-daapd.org for debian/ubuntu packages.

The Pinnacle-branded SoundBridges do not see iTunes (DAAP) shares. But

lconvis
    Participant

Thank you so much for your quick reply.

I went and downloaded the nightly (1586). I checked and the RSP plugin was enabled.

I know my Soundbridge is a Roku no mention of Pinnacle anywhere.

Since I installed the nightly (1586) I can no longer access my Web interface for firefly.

Any more ideas on my Soundbridge?

Thanks again

Lenny

fizze
    Participant

Well, if your soundbridge is indeed a RoKu then it should see the iTunes, rhythmbox, banshee and firefly shares anywho.

So let’s take this one step further.
    How is your RoKu connected to your music servers? Wirelessly? Via a Router?
    Chances are, the router blocks multicasts, so see if you can tap into your router config and activate any options that enable multicasts.