SB + Firefly / mt-daapd (Ubuntu Edgy) fails to connect now?

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server Setup Issues SB + Firefly / mt-daapd (Ubuntu Edgy) fails to connect now?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Binary Jay
    Participant

(I am reposting this from the Roku Forum, in case this is more of a Firefly issue than a Soundbridge issue and there are different brains looking at each forum. I apologize if it is redundant for some of you.)

Since this is my first post, I’d like to start with a short introduction. I’m a software developer dealing mostly with C#/.NET enterprise development from Toronto. I recently purchased a Soundbridge M1001 and after a bit of fiddling was able to get it to work perfectly (Over WiFi) with my library on my linux box using the latest mt-daapd stable build.

A couple of days go by leaving the unit on standby, and I discovered last night that the Soundbridge would no longer connect to my library. That is, that my library is always visible from the SB while the server is running, but attempting to select it on the SB results in a short wait followed by “Could not connect to server.” No amount of restarting mt-daapd, rebooting the server, rebooting the router, or power cycling the soundbridge have helped.

Puzzled I checked things over on the server and all appeared well. I booted up my old laptop with Windows on it, to test the server with iTunes 7. To my horror, my mt-daapd music share was found, loaded and played songs just fine. The mt-daapd share also loaded and played OK locally via Rhythmbox and Banshee. I went as far as to go into Firestarter and completely disable the firewall from there on the linux box, even though no events were being logged to lead me to believe that there was something going on. Considering that it *was* working fine before, I am pretty sure that my router/server is functioning fine.