Random Disc

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi, new to the forums but I’ve been using Firefly for a while now and I really enjoy it. Running across a problem though: my share will randomly disconnect in iTunes, sometimes in the middle of a song and sometimes when a song isn’t even playing. Any ideas? Here’s the pertinent info:
    Firefly version: svn-1696
    Server: Debian Linux
    Client: iTunes 7.5 for Windows
    Also tried Rhythmbox for Linux, it had absolutely no problem staying connected (it was on a laptop through a wired connection).

I have a logfile if it’s necessary, it shows a couple errors on startup.

Oh, and I feign like I know what I’m doing, but really I am a linux noob, so you’ll probably have to walk me through anything server-side

rpedde
    Participant

@Juddium wrote:

Hi, new to the forums but I’ve been using Firefly for a while now and I really enjoy it. Running across a problem though: my share will randomly disconnect in iTunes, sometimes in the middle of a song and sometimes when a song isn’t even playing. Any ideas? Here’s the pertinent info:
    Firefly version: svn-1696
    Server: Debian Linux
    Client: iTunes 7.5 for Windows
    Also tried Rhythmbox for Linux, it had absolutely no problem staying connected (it was on a laptop through a wired connection).

I have a logfile if it’s necessary, it shows a couple errors on startup.

Oh, and I feign like I know what I’m doing, but really I am a linux noob, so you’ll probably have to walk me through anything server-side

1696 has a contention issue with the database that causes it to become locked. Quick fix is to turn off background scanning by setting scan_interval to 0. You’ll have to manually rescan when you need to add music, but it will keep your server running better. 🙂

Anonymous
    Inactive

Perfect, I’ll give that a go. Thanks!

Anonymous
    Inactive