NSLU2 and Firefly Setup Issues

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    Darth Nemo
    Participant

Hi,

Before we start its worth mentioning that although I have been running firefly through windows, I am a real noob to getting it working on the NSLU2 and this is probably because i have zero experience with Linux and Telnetting and have been using the net to guide me through. At the moment, I can’t get either of my Roku Soundbridges to see the new server.

Equipment: NSLU2 upgraded to latest firmware, and running Unslung 6.8; Buffalo 300gb USB Hard Drive.

So far, I have followed [url[http://wiki.mt-daapd.org/wiki/Quickstart_NSLU2 [/url]and http://www.fibiger.org/musicserver/nslu2-mtdaapd-howto.html to get the latest version of firefly.

I have also followed this procedure http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/Unslung/Mt-daapd however instead of using a folder called MP3, mine is called Music-VBR.

Now here is where my questions start,
    (Music is my servername,)

1) In windows, I can see two folders from NSLU2, Disk 1 on Music, and Admin 1 on Music – I can access Disk 1, but Admin 1 requires a password and I have no idea what that is – do I need to use this in anyway?

2) Is there any other way other than telnet to access the mt-daapd config file – at the moment, I have to copy it to /share/hdd/data/public to be able to see it – I have tried to access it using (my ip address):3689 and 9999 – but I can’t see it?

3) I read often on the internet that it is easy to copy and move files around – is telnet the only way to do this?

4) Any ideas why my Roku’s cannot see the NSLU2 server – they are connected wirelessly, but are running the latest firmware, I’ve also installed the latest firefly ipk software.

5) I’ve opened two ports on my router to the device, but that doesn’t seem to work either – is my music still secure with the ports open?