Newbie calling

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi πŸ™‚

My network : NSLU2+500 GB WD, Linksys WRT54GL (DD-wrt firmware), Desktop dualboot XP(x86) + Vista 64, HP Notebook(Vista x86) and Kiss DP 558.
    I just bought the slug, I am new to linux and just installed DD-WRT firmware on my router.
    Slug is unslung 6.8beta running the latest nightly. Firefly media server installed on XP partition.

Am I right that I dont need my desktop running to be able to stream music to my laptop ?
    If that is correct I have a problem because when I shut down my desktop the laptop loses connection to the mediaserver in Itunes.

What do you need to know to help me out Ron πŸ˜€ ?

Thanks

rpedde
    Participant

@TigerKiss wrote:

Hi πŸ™‚

My network : NSLU2+500 GB WD, Linksys WRT54GL (DD-wrt firmware), Desktop dualboot XP(x86) + Vista 64, HP Notebook(Vista x86) and Kiss DP 558.
    I just bought the slug, I am new to linux and just installed DD-WRT firmware on my router.
    Slug is unslung 6.8beta running the latest nightly. Firefly media server installed on XP partition.

Am I right that I dont need my desktop running to be able to stream music to my laptop ?
    If that is correct I have a problem because when I shut down my desktop the laptop loses connection to the mediaserver in Itunes.

What do you need to know to help me out Ron πŸ˜€ ?

Thanks

You’ll need to copy your music over to one of the devices that runs full-time. (the slug, maybe).

Instructions for installing are at http://wiki.fireflymediaserver.org/NSLU2_Installation

You can skip the part about running unlsung, and just skip down to the “installing firefly” section.

— Ron

Anonymous
    Inactive

Thanks Ron πŸ™‚

For some strange reason I havent seen that page before. The one you link to. Everything seems to be very well explained there.
    But I cant make it work.