New to Linux, how do I install?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I am totally new to Linux and I’m not really sure how to go about installing this. I want to install Firefly onto a Linux server so I can access mp3’s through iTunes on Windows PC’s.

I’ve downloaded the dependancies:

libid3tag-0.15.1b.tar
    libmad-0.15.1b.tar
    madplay-0.15.1b.tar

How and where do I install them?

I then downloaded:

mt-daapa-0.2.4.2.tar

how and where do I install this?

grs

Anonymous
    Inactive
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I saw that guide, but it doesn’t explain what I type in to actually install the files.

I’m very new to Linux.

fizze
    Participant

You won’t find a type-in walkthrough. If you’re new to linux, get a flavour of linux thats extremely user friendly, like suse, ubuntu, centos and start learning it.
    You’ll see that different flavours offer different experiences.

If you use ubuntu for instance, you don’t need to do anything other than fire up the software installer (whatever its called in ubuntu) and select the firefly package. That’s it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anonymous
    Inactive

I’m want to install Firefly on a ClarkConnect server, which is based on Red Hat. This is my storage server where my music files are kept which why I want Firefly there. I’ve just used

tar -zxvf libmad-0.15.1b.tar.gz
    tar -zxvf madplay-0.15.2b.tar.gz
    tar -zxvf libid3tag-0.15.1b.tar.gz
    tar -zxvf mt-daapd-0.2.4.2.tar.gz

to unpack the the files into a folder I made at /home/grs/firefly each time I unpacked them a folder containing the files was created.

From the mt-daapd readme I have to put mt-daapd.conf and mt-daapd.playlist into /etc directory. In the readme it also says

Here’s the short and sweet of it:

./configure; make; make install

I’m not sure what to do with this.