Multiple servers

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    ETAF
    Participant

I’m very new to this method of serving music – i have just purchased a new AMP/Tuner/CD player an Enigma Box and wanted to start using my wireless network (Already have MP3 players and MP3 files on Itunes) – so I purchased a roku soundbridge {told it work OK with Itunes pinnicle version – so going to have that mis-sale discussion with shop tomorrow when it re-opens } – only to discover I needed to use the firefly server, anyway having cut some CD’s and copied Itunes MP3’s onto my harddrive for serving the bridge.

now I have some questions – I’m just using the FireFly server on a laptop with music and also via Itunes on a PC – so the Roku can see two servers
    Laptop and PC Music

I have organised the music into , rock, classical, jazz, TV, etc etc
    and I wondered if there was a way to have the music seen as seperate servers
    so I connect to a classical server or a rock server and then only search a limited number of albums etc.
    But all from One PC and harddrive.

I’m also looking into buying a server – like the D-link DSM-G600 with some harddrives attached or a buffalo server attached – so it would be good to be able to have the media server software configured to serve the music onto the roku in those catorgorise

as i say – i’m very new to all this – so there may be a simple way to do this maybe – creating playlist or something

can you search playlist ?

anyhelp advice for a complete newbie

cromei
    Participant

ETAF,
    You have options available to you.
    1. different instances of Firefly running with different config files to separate the music
    2. Playlists made by iTunes to separate the music
    3. FireFly smart playlists to separate the music.
    4. More, probably but am not thinking of any.

If you setup your genre tags on your music 3 is the easiest way to go. If not 2 is pretty good as well. I have never done 1 and so can not comment.