Losing connection

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi ther I am pretty new to firefly and I have a Roku M2000 on order that should arrive this afternoon (they seem to still be available in Auastralia).

I plan on running mt-daap from my linux box which also acts as a firewall/router and a file server. Since i dont have the Roku just yet I am just setting up the linux daemon and testing it with itunes on a windows PC.The details of the linux machine are:

Distro – fedora core 5
    NIC’s – eth0 connects to internet eth1 is LAN 192.168.0.1
    Using avahi daemon (although the RPM forced me to install howl, it is not enabled or running)

The firewall is setup to allow all traffic from 192.168.0.0/24 looking at the firewall logs I dont see any rejections coming the LAN subnet, only hits on public addresses.

Now I have installed mt-daapd from the stable RPM and compiled it and in both cases I end up with the same problem. The itunes client sees the mt-daapd server just fine and can stream MP3’s from it. However after near an hour the server is no longer seen on iTunes. Restarting iTunes does not fix this the only way to see the server again is to restart the mt-daapd daemon.

On these forums I saw another person who had a similar problem which turned out to be a NIC that needed to be set to promiscous mode. I tried that this morning and within an hour I saw the server disappear in iTunes again.
    As a side note looking in the system logs I see that around the time the server disappered there is an entry “mt-daapd[8370] Client 192.168.0.99 disconnected”

Any ideas?

rpedde
    Participant

@anthony-td wrote:

Any ideas?

Server disappears and only reappears when restarting is almost always because multicast is firwalled. Specifically from 224.0.0.251 on port 5353.

— Ron

Anonymous
    Inactive

Ok i am using firestarter for the firewall.

I have added the following to the user defined section of the firewall: