You are here: Home » Topic » iPhone/iPod Touch native client app

iPhone/iPod Touch native client app

This topic contains 21 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by  Cojayar 7 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

Hi All,

I have searched high and low and I can’t find a native DAAP client app capable of connecting to firefly.
    I surmise that there is not one available…
    I am considering having a crack at developing one but I am a noob with objective-c/cocoa touch etc.
    Before I sink a load of time an effort into trying this out (no promises at this stage!) I wanted to get some feedback:

1) Is there any reason why such an app does not already exist? – i.e. not possible with SDK, blocked from appstore by apple for some reason. It seems that all the functionality I would need exists in other apps – i.e. bonjour discovery of servers, streaming audio etc.
    2) Is there demand for this? I guess I could just do it for myself but it would be nice if others wanted it too.
    3) Has anyone already made a start on such a project?

Cheers,
    James

fizze
    Participant

It’s definetly blocked by the App store because that would allow to connect to a shared iTunes library. Apple doesn’t want that. Apple wants you to sync it over the wire just like an iPod. *shrug*

But it’s not as easy as that, since there are similiar devices around and there just doesn’t seem to be a half-decent DAAP client implementation out there. I’ve had an Nokia N810 for almost a year and there is no such thing, not even close. Thats surprising, given it’s open nature.

Anonymous

I thought it should still be possible to connect to unencrypted DAAP servers.
    As of itunes 7+ DAAP has been encrypted on itunes and has not been reverse engineered (yet).
    (This is why the pinnacle soundbridges can’t use itunes but the roku ones can – roku bought a license for encryption certificate).