Help with MyBook World Edition – newbie to Linux

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server Setup Issues Help with MyBook World Edition – newbie to Linux

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Johncan
    Participant

Hi,

I am trying to set up a MyBook World Edition 1 TB external hard drive to run Firefly for my Roku M2000 and M1000. Previously, I have had Firefly installed on a PC running WinXP Pro. I only play FLAC files and some MP3s. I do not use Itunes.

I set up the MyBook using the following directions:
    http://wiki.fireflymediaserver.org/MyBook_World_Edition_Install

Firefly is running and I can access the web interface. However, I cannot get Firefly to scan the folders in my MyBook. It does not see any of the FLAC or MP3 files.

Please advise. Also, please note, I am a complete newbie with Linux and Unix and don’t understand anything I have done so far. I just followed the directions.

Thanks

John

Johncan
    Participant

I think my problem resides with this part:

Now, using web interface, create a MUSIC folder. This is where the iTunes directory will sit. Copy the iTunes directory from your computer over to the MUSIC directory on the MyBookWorld using drag and drop.

The iTunes directory now needs to be soft-linked to where Firefly can find it (it apparently needs to be in the same filesystem). Back on the command line, again as root,

I don’t use Itunes as it does not see FLAC files. I created a folder on the MyBookWorld called /music and all my album folders are under that.

Any help would be appreciated.

rpedde
    Participant

@Johncan wrote:

I think my problem resides with this part:

Now, using web interface, create a MUSIC folder. This is where the iTunes directory will sit. Copy the iTunes directory from your computer over to the MUSIC directory on the MyBookWorld using drag and drop.