Help installing firefly on a MIPS Linkstation

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server Setup Issues Help installing firefly on a MIPS Linkstation

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    g0pkh
    Participant

Hi all.

Currently I use an NSLU2 for running firefly and mt-daapd.

I have a spare linkstation (MIPS) which I would like to experiment with.
    However I do not really know how to get started.

I am very new to Linux, and installation on NSLU2 is a breeze with IPKG, but the Linkstation, I understand needs to have firefly “Built” for it.

I have already installed the openlink firmware and development tools on my LS (from linkstationwiki.net), but now I am at a loss of the actual steps I need to take, and why.

What files do I need (source files etc), and where can I get them ?
    How do I “Build” the package, what utilities do I use and how ?
    How to deal with common problems that are like ly to occur ?
    What pitfalls to be aware of ?

Questions, questions, questions πŸ˜†

I would very much appreciate it if someone could guide me through the process of installing firefly, and the steps I need to take.
    I am really doing this because I want to learn more about these processes, as I said I do already use NSLU2’s for my servers, but just want to learn the differences.

Although I am new to linux, I can find my way around the file system, use VI etc. πŸ™‚

Thanks

Pete

rpedde
    Participant

@g0pkh wrote:

Hi all.

Currently I use an NSLU2 for running firefly and mt-daapd.

I have a spare linkstation (MIPS) which I would like to experiment with.
    However I do not really know how to get started.

I am very new to Linux, and installation on NSLU2 is a breeze with IPKG, but the Linkstation, I understand needs to have firefly “Built” for it.