Getting error -39

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I am using Windows Home Server with FireFly media server. I have 4 computers in the house. Three of them work flawlessly with FMS. The last one does not. When I try to access Firefly in Itunes I get error:

The shared library “Firefly” is not responding (-39)
    Check that any firewall software running on either the shared computer or this computer has been set to allow communication on port 9999

I can see the shared folders on the WHS. I have a ‘green’ connection to the WHS. I am using Norton but I disabled and it still does not work. Windows firewall is off.

Firefly installed on Windows Media Server
    Firefly version: Firefly Service 1.0 svn-1696
    Shared computer that is not working: Vista Ultimate
    Tried with wireless and wired

I am not a newbie but either I am missing something stupid or something is truly wrong.

Please help.

Anonymous
    Inactive

I want to add a few notes…
    – On the computer that does not work, I can get see Firefly in Itunes but get the error when I click on Firefly
    – All the other computers see Firefly and load the songs when clicked
    – On the computer that does not work, I can get to the config page for Firefly on port 9999 (i.e. http://192.168.1.77:9999/index.html) – even when the Norton firewall is active

I’d love some help as I ripped a bunch of CDs and want to add them to my kids Ipods before a trip later this week.

Thanks in advance.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Nobody? Bummer.

I reinstalled Bonjour on the server. I removed and reinstalled Firefly 1586. Still not working.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Anonymous
    Inactive

Okay, I have ignored this issue for quite a long time. Today, I tried again. I noticed an important piece of information…

There are two accounts on this computer. The administrator account and a standard user account. This is a Vista computer.

– The administrator account works!!