Firefly, Belkin F5D7132UK WURE and multicasting problem

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server Setup Issues Firefly, Belkin F5D7132UK WURE and multicasting problem

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    be4con
    Participant

I’m running a Roku M1001 with static IP wired to a Buffalo WBMR-G54. The Buffalo connects wirelessly to a Belkin F5D7132UK Wireless G Universal Range Extender which is then wired to my pc.

The pc runs Firefly.

I can connect the Roku to the net to update software, listen to radio etc but I cannot see Firefly. With the WURE out of the picture I can get Firefly on the Roku OK.

I’ve searched the forums and found that this is probably due to the Belkin not forwarding multicasting/unicasting. I’m a relative noob though and this means precious little to me. I understand that I probably have to configure the Belkin to do this but can’t find a way to do so. Belkin support have so far been useless. They just give me the standard rubbish about resetting and reconfiguring the WURE without addressing the specific problem in hand.

Without the Belkin I get Firefly but with constant rebuffering, with it I get perfect internet radio with no rebuffering but no Firefly. I’m not firewalled, turning off my firewall makes not a jot of difference.

I’m hoping maybe someone will read this and be able to help me configure the Belkin, or failing that tell me what other manufacturers WURE I can buy that will forward Firefly, so I can cut my losses, sell the Belkin and finally get my Roku running the way I know it should be able to.

Thanks a lot.

Anonymous
    Inactive

OK, first up Roku advise against ‘double hopping’ – router/Access Point/range extender combo – says it’s more trouble than it’s worth… but I also have this kind of set up and it works pretty well.

I have a F5D7130 Belkin AP/extender so on my experience here are some suggestions: