Don’t know what I’m doing; please help or tell me where 2 go

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server General Discussion Don’t know what I’m doing; please help or tell me where 2 go

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Sorry — I don’t know if I’m in the right place or even on the right track. I’m hoping someone will be nice enough to tell me one way or the other, and maybe point me in the right direction.

I’m not a programmer, so please try not to talk over my head. I had the idea to create something where a group of 5 or 6 friends and I, who live all over the world, can share our iTunes libraries with each other. The ideal, perfect world scenario would be some kind of web-based iTunes that we could all access and load music (and maybe movies) onto our iPods from. I don’t know if anything remotely resembling this is possible (or legal), but that’s what I’m hoping for. I did a lot of searching around and came across daapd, downloaded it, and from there had no idea what to do because I don’t know anything about programming and I need things spelled out for me a little better, in language I understand. I found my way here via one of the readme files that came with it.

Am I on the right track? I’m pretty good at figuring this stuff out as I go, but I’m not going to become a programmer overnight, and even if I did have the time to devote to it, it would take awhile.

I have a hosting account on a Linux server with unlimited space, if that helps.

The Computer Audiophile

I think this is likely illegal and not much different from many p2p file sharing programs, just a smaller scale. If you own the IP rights to the music then you are free to do whatever obviously.