Can two clients listen to the same stream?

FireFly Media Server Firefly Media Server Forums Firefly Media Server General Discussion Can two clients listen to the same stream?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    magnate
    Participant

Hi all – total noob here, so apologies if this is a really stupid question.

I recently bought a Pinnacle SoundBridge HomeMusic thingy, to listen to my MP3s without having a computer in the living room. I plugged it in, installed Firefly (actually mt-daapd 0.2.4+r1376-1 on Debian Etch), spent five minutes editing /etc/mt-daapd.conf and it worked like a dream, straight out of the box.

Upstairs in the study I have a Windows PC with iTunes. It also sees the daap server and can stream stuff from the same library, which is great. What I’d really like is to be able to listen to the same stream that’s playing downstairs in the living room – is this possible? I can’t see any option on iTunes to listen to an existing stream, it just presents me with the library and asks me to pick something to play. Nor can I see any facility on the web interface to send the same stream to two clients, though I can see them both connected and streaming separately.

Does this facility exist? If so what do I have to do? I’m not averse to installing a new client if iTunes won’t cut it.

If it doesn’t exist, is it theoretically possible? (I hesistate to introduce myself to a forum and immediately start asking questions about other products, but maybe it’s possible with different server software?)

Thanks in advance for any tips,

CC

rpedde
    Participant

@magnate wrote: