Almost there

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    davesanti
    Participant

Hey all…

I am working on my slug and am so close I can taste it… but I can’t reach the finish line. I am total Noob on this stuff and have bee trying to follow the various instructions and Wikis.

The good news is that I am unlsung, the hardrive is recognized (on usb port 2), and I installed FF (I guess, in theory).

I just can’t get it running.

When I telnet into the SLug, and type

“ps -ef | grep mt-daapd” I get the script similar to richdunlops example:

560 ttyp0 root 2668 S grep mt-daapd

which tells me I am not running.

I try

/opt/etc/init.d/S60mt-daapd

And get:

“Bad mp3 directory (/share/hdd/data/public): No such file or directory
    Error reading config file (/opt/etc/mt-daapd/mt-daapd.conf)”

I understand that the “hdd” should be “flash” and I have tried to edit via VI to no success. I am not certain I understand that process as well as I should. I can change the script but it doesn’t seem to stick.

I can’t seem to get to configuration via the slug IP and “3689”, and there is no configuration on the Slug interface that seems to help. I cant get to the UI on FF (probably because it isn’t running?)

Ackkkk.. I am close, but I am such a Noob that I cant get this done. I am happy to have gotten so far without bricking my Slug.

Any all suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Dave

davesanti
    Participant

OK, getting closer.. I am 99% of the way there..

I reinstalled using a nightly… and sure enough I cleared through all the isssues noted above. I now have FF up and running and serving my entire music collection.

A couple of issues:

1) Whenever I make any changes to the configuration, I get a yellow box at the bottom with an error related to that change. However, the change holds and does what I have asked.