Reply To: Preventing full reload

rpedde
Participant

@NeomaD wrote:

Ok, I get the messege. Ill try to not start the server when my NAS is offline.

Sorry. Just hit me wrong somehow. This is software I’ve been working on for something like three years, off and on. Mostly on. I spend somewhere around 12 to 15 hours a week answering forum posts and emails. I *try* to do some coding every day on it (although forum volume lately has slow me down significantly).

My point is that I have a lot of time and effort invested in this, and I take it very personally. So when I read your post, I somehow internalized something like: “This isn’t even good enough for free software. It sucks. You suck.”

I realize you probably didn’t mean it that way, but I manged to spin myself up a bit. Sorry. So perhaps I was a bit snippy. 😳

I was just thinking, Its allright that it starts over again if the media isnt there, BUT if it cant contact the place where the media should be eg D: or my NAS, then it maybe should react in another way.

Maybe. But it’s a much harder problem that it appears. In the case of a windows machine, maybe it’s fairly easy. But to generalize that to a headless nas box sitting in a closet. Thats harder.

Plus, my point about mechanism versus policy meant that you never know what the right thing is.

What if someone were using it to plug and unplug an iPod. Such that when they plugged in the iPod, it indexed it and the songs were available in the music server. But when they undocked it, they disappeared. It would be a misfeature to keep the songs around in that case, or to bug them about whether or not they really wanted to remove the files.

Or (like me), some people might have an “incoming” folder, where stuff gets put when it gets… uh… ripped from an appropriately purchased CD, and digitized only for personal archival use, or other fair use. (eek!)