Reply To: Prevent sleep on OSX when sharing in progress

Anonymous
Inactive

I’ve been programming for ~30 years.. but haven’t touched C in over 10 years, and my last real Mac programming was using Lightspeed(?) Pascal in the early 90’s. My work now is all in HDLs, and Perl/html, etc. There are probably cleaner/better ways to accomplish what I did… on the other hand, it appears to accomplish what I wanted to do. I am VERY open to (re)learning what those better ways are if anyone wants to make suggestions.

My home network is set up such that my Mac has my music (iTunes) library.

My HTPC (and mail/web server) is linux (ubuntu). Since Apple encrypted DAAP library sharing after iTunes version 7, I was using Firefly (mt-daapd) to serve my music (it can read iTunes).

My linux box stays on 24/7 (as my mail/web server)… my Mac, I want to sleep (to save power) when not in use.

The issue I had was that the act of serving music (via Firefly) was not sufficient to keep the Mac from falling asleep.

Following up ob a generous tip (thanks BH!) I was referred to this Apple doc:

http://developer.apple.com/mac/library/qa/qa2004/qa1160.html

NOT being familiar with the Firefly code structure, I thought as a first approximation, if I could “poke” the OS every time a new song was started, that would be sufficient prodding to keep the Mac awake… so I hunted thru the Firefly code, and came up with this strategy (attempting to do this in a cross-platform-friendly way).

In a non-cross-platform friendly world, the quick and dirty waste add at the top of plugin.c:

#include

and then at the top of the routine pi_stream I would add

UpdateSystemActivity(OverallAct);

Seemed simple enough… but plugin.c is not Mac-specific, so the other OSes would not like seeing Mac calls there, so to make it more cross-platform-friendly, I

a) added (plugin.c, line 895)
prevent_sleep();

b) add (rend.h, line 30)
extern void prevent_sleep(void);

c) added (rend-osx.c, line 35)
#include