Setup/Install on FC10

• This topic has 8 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

i give up! i’ve been trying to get this to work for weeks now. Is there anyone who would be willing to tutor me a bit, maybe? i’m not a Linux expert, but i’m no idiot, either, and i can’t get Firefly to work. System is Intel, Linux, Fedora Core 10.

i’ve got Media Player 11 running on my Windoze box, sharing all of my music with my Soundbridge now. i’ve had that working for years, so connectivity isn’t the problem.

Firefly starts up, and serves music fine, but after a few minutes, my SB can’t connect anymore. It’s not just a problem with the SB, because i see the same thing in iTunes. Firefly is simply starting up, and then something is bombing out after a few minutes. mt-daapd is still running; there are two processes. But neither iTunes nor my SB can connect to it.

Since it’s Fedora, i installed first with yum install mt-daapd. When i started seeing this behavior, i thought maybe i’d better get the latest stable release and build it myself. i didn’t have much trouble doing all of that, although i had to re-do my config file, because the version Fedora installed used an older format. This time, i also tried sharing a much, much smaller set of mp3s, in case the problem was due to my large collection, or maybe a specific file. Now i don’t have mt-daapd listed in the services window anymore, but i can start it from a command-line. But i see the same behavior. It starts up, and i can connect just fine, and then after a couple minutes, i can’t connect anymore. i set the debug level to 9, and there’s still nothing in the log that looks questionable.