Playlists? or am I missing something

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi

I am a newbie! Just bought a Netgear ReadyNAS Pro which had Firefly pre-installed. Really impressed so far with it!

I have my itunes talking to it, all music is in there etc and its working!

However if I want to create playlists it wont let me drag the song from the remote server > local playlist? I have read on the forums that you cannot do this? but people are creating playlists on the server? Does this mean you have had to do all the work locally on your Mac and then copy the music / playlists back onto netgear or am I missing something? Seems a major flaw if this is the case. Part of my problem is that I have a massive music collection with no playlists. Its something I wanted to do, but felt it easier to keep all music on NAS and then start to crate some cool playlist.

Also, anyway to make Frontrow see the shared server?

Thanks

stretch
    Participant

@punderwood75 wrote:

it wont let me drag the song from the remote server > local playlist?

This is an iTunes limitation.
    iTunes is assuming that someone else owns the music.

Try using the java Firefly client, unlike iTunes, it can create playlists using music on the server.
    It also inserts playlists directly into Firefly’s database so you don’t have to import anything.
    The only limitation with the java client is it can’t play aac music files

Anonymous
    Inactive

This is the second thread I’ve read about the java client, yet when I use it you can’t manipulate server playlists. You can’t even create your own, or drag songs, or even right click on them.

Is there something I’m missing? I’m using 0.9b

stretch
    Participant

With the java client running, select File > New Playlist & give it a name
    You can then drag music files from the list of songs in the library onto the playlist name in the side bar.